"In my home there are few publications that we actually get hard copies of, but [Arms Control Today] is one and it's the only one my husband and I fight over who gets to read it first."

– Suzanne DiMaggio
Senior Fellow, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace
April 15, 2019
St. Kitts and Nevis Sign CTBT

St. Kitts and Nevis became the 171st signatory of the Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty (CTBT) March 23.

The CTBT, which opened for signature Sept. 24, 1996, currently has 171 signatories. Of those countries, 44 designated states with proven nuclear facilities must ratify it before the treaty can enter into force. Of the 44 specified countries, India, Pakistan, and North Korea still have not signed, and only 32 have ratified the treaty. Nuclear-weapon states China and the United States are among the notable signers that have yet to ratify the agreement.